Dealership Header

Customer Reviews

Overall Rating 5 / 5
4/17/2019
Verified Customer
Worth the trip
This is my 2nd car purchased from Hampden trading Co. Both times there was no pressure, easy financing, and I ended up with a good car at a good price.
Tom Talbot-Olson
Monson, Massachusetts
3/13/2019
Verified Customer
Return customer
I just purchased my 3rd Subaru from Hampden Trading Company. The vehicles were for my children. They wrecked the first one, but was so pleased with the service and quality of our purchase I returned. Just now I bought the 3rd one for my other daughter. I feel very comfortable with the reliability and honesty of the dealership. Rusty is not pushy and had all the paperwork completed for us. There is no need to be pushy here as the quality and pricing speak for themselves. I will soon be looking for a new vehicle for myself- I had thought about buying new, but am now considering used.
beth welch
east longmeadow, Massachusetts
2/17/2019
Verified Customer
Fabulous Professionalism
Thank you, Rusty Hughes, for making the anxiety-filled experience of buying a used car easy, friendly, pressure free, and successful. Earlier I had walked away dissatisfied from several dealerships in my search for a used, manual-transmission Subaru Outback in my four-figure price range. I wanted a RED one. Found what I was seeking at Hampden. Rusty and Eddie saw to it that all of the engine issues we discovered during a long preliminary test drive were thoroughly fixed before I drove it off the lot for home. No other dealer would have done the degree of remedial work on that engine that Hampden did! Impressed my mechanic. Took it for a very long test drive before finalizing the deal and taking it home. Car was connected to a device that checked each system as we drove. All earlier issues had been satisfactorily corrected. Good price, great customer service, great responsiveness to issues and concerns. Treated with respect and patience. I'd go back there if I ever need a "new" used car. And my "new" 2012 Subaru Outback has a six-speed manual transmission and is RED!!! Yippee!!!
Sandra Nicolicc
Westwood, Massachusetts
2/12/2019
Verified Customer
Great Expereience
I found Hamden Trading Company extremely easy to work with. I worked with Rusty and found the perfect Subaru for my daughter. We completed the necessary paperwork in less than an hour. Car was super clean, very solid and reasonably priced. I appreciated the low pressure. Great experience.
John Broadhurst
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
2/4/2019
Verified Customer
Great Dealer
Looked for a used car for my college student. Found a great deal on a Honda CRV. Had looked for miles and miles, all the way to Waterbury one day and it ended up that Hampden Trading was right in our backyard with the best deals around..Good people to deal with. Thank you!
Lena BUTEAU
Hampden, Massachusetts
12/8/2018
Verified Customer
Absolutely love Hampden Trading Company
We have just purchased our third car from Hampden Trading Company. Our salesman, Rusty, was absolutely wonderful! No pressure at all and they have very reliable vehicles. Hampden Trading Company looks over every car and checks it for any problems. If there are any, they fix them before you drive the car off the lot. I have total confidence in this company and have enjoyed working with Rusty. He is honest and straight forward. I wouldn't buy a used car from anyone but Hampden Trading Company.
Catherine T.
Somers, Connecticut
11/29/2018
Verified Customer
Wonderful Experience!
review image
We just bought our son his first car (a Subaru Outback). We browsed on 3 different occasions, and each time we felt welcomed. Our questions were always answered in an honest and helpful way. The care taken with the car prior to picking it up impressed us so much. Rusty was wonderful to work with. We will definitely buy from them again!
Angela M.
Somers, Connecticut
11/29/2018
Verified Customer
Good customer service and selection
We had a good experience at Hampden Trading Company and found the selection to be good. A word of caution though, check your lug nuts before you leave. My wife’s cousing bought a car there a year ago and told us that immediately after leaving, he lost 4 out of 5 lug nuts on one wheel on the Masspike. So, I went and checked ours, and found 2 missing from one wheel. As I said, we had a good experience there and would go back, but I would check the lug nuts before driving off the lot.
Dan McKay
Springfield, Massachusetts
11/18/2018
Verified Customer
2008 Subaru Outback
My wife and I stopped in at Hampden Trading Company on a whim late one day where we met Rusty (Rudy’s roommate in college – ask him) for the first time. He’s a great salesman and I liked him immediately. There were two other customers and it was past his dinner time – but he stayed with me. In 15 minutes, he told me most of what I needed to know about the company’s culture and business model – and I was impressed – as in – I can get a good deal here. He told me to check the inventory every week as they get 7-10 new (used) cars every week from MetroWest Subaru in Natick – I did and within a couple of weeks, they had what I was looking for. I went up the next day to test drive and buy the car. Three business days later, I took delivery. There were some minor issues that took a few days / iterations to iron out but my sense was that they (I was working with Dave) were fully committed to resolving / fixing the problems. In situations like this you to begin to doubt all the chest pounding talk … at the end of the day it’s all about how they actually respond … stand behind the words and fix things. And they did – within the standard warranty period. They said that they would address any (reading between the lines – reasonable requests and time period) problems even after the required warranty period expires. I haven’t had to test these assurances (I hope I never have to), but I’m reasonably confident that they will backup these words as well. I also like the atmosphere – low key – zero pressure. I think I heard Rusty say “The cars sell themselves”. Check it out.
Scott Phillips
Tolland, Connecticut
10/29/2018
Verified Customer
Easy, very straightforward
I had been looking for quite awhile and getting discouraged. I saw a car offered at Hampden Tradiing and stopped by. Met Rusty who was very helpful, no pressure at all! He was very pleasant to my 93 year old mother as well. The car I called on was in their shop as they were checking it out as they had just gotten it. Rusty said he would call when it was ready. He called the next day and said it didn't check out too much wrong with it and they were not comfortable selling it. Told of a Subaru Outback they had and we went down and drove it. It fit our needs/budget he took it to our garage to have it checked out by them prior to taking a cent from us. A few minor issues that were normal for the mileage on the car, they fixed them all! Also did all paperwork, Registry, insurance, plates I just picked it up and drove it home! Highly recommend you include them in your search for a vehicle, in fact tell them what you want, they will look. Our cousin showed up to visit with a great Subaru Forester that he had just bought from them, also through Rusty. Thrilled with it! Go see Rusty!
Evelyn Mullin
Springfield, Massachusetts
9/30/2018
Verified Customer
Great Dealership!
They were very honest and helpful from the get go. Appreciated that they didn't hover while I browsed but were there when I needed anything. Continued to help after we left the shop. Would definitely recommend!
Lexie Vatousiou
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
9/18/2018
Verified Customer
Great Dealership!
If you need a good used car this is the place to go, the people are excellent to deal with and the service is great! Thanks Hampden Trading Company for a great experience.
Rich & Jackie
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
9/14/2018
Verified Customer
Hmm
We purchased our 2005 Subaru Forester XS LL Bean edition from Hampden Trading Company in June 2018. It was $7000 after tax and had 87,700 miles. So far, we love the car as a whole. It's in great shape for being 13 years old, it drives well and our purchase- despite being out of state -was relatively seamless. We had a miscommunication about being able to take the car that day and had to make two two-hour trips but it was overall worth it. Rusty was very prompt with sending over the title paperwork via Fedex and we were able to get the car in a good amount of time. That being said, when we purchased the car, we were told there was extensive work done on it (replacing gaskets, etc.) that supposedly was worth $800. When we test drove the car, the AC didn't work and so they were able to fix it before we picked it up which was much appreciated. For a month or so, we drove the car and it was fine. One day, we started hearing a whistling noise. We brought it to our mechanics and were told that the muffler piece broke and needed to be replaced (which is a common Subaru issue because it's ceramic). Roads in upstate New York are horrible and so the car has been bouncing around a lot. While the car was up they noticed the oil pan was leaking and the alternator would eventually need to be replaced. We did all of the work (except for replacing the oil pan) since we got it at a good price and spent $600, bringing the total we spent on the car to around $7600 which is not too bad for such a great car. This month (September 2018), I had a punctured tire so when I brought the car in to get my tires fixed, the mechanic looked it over once again. This time, he informed me that now my struts were leaking and that because it has a special auto-leveling suspension, I would need special dealer parts to replace them. He informed me that this would unfortunately cost about $1000 to repair, bringing the total spent on the car to around $8600. He informed me that if I wanted to keep the car for the long term, he would recommend that I repair the struts for longevity. I have grown to love this car and so I'd like to keep it for as long as possible. That being said, is $8600 for a 2005 Subaru Forester XS LL Bean Edition (with now 90,700 miles) is a little expensive. KBB says the value of it from a dealer would be around $6000. After all of this, I would say that we had a good experience buying from Hampden, but I wish they could've warned us if they knew all of these things would need to repaired. If their mechanic did such "extensive" work on it, he surely would have noticed that the AC didn't work in the middle of summer and that the oil pan had significant wear on it and that the alternator was starting to go. We've spent $1600 over 3 months. Hampden has a good selection and are helpful sales people but at the end of the day, it was our choice to buy a used car.
K Schell
Kingston, New York
9/9/2018
Verified Customer
Best Place to Buy a Used Car!
This was the most pleasant dealership that I have ever been too, The service is top of the line,and Rusty is the nicest sale person I ever met. If you want a good used car this is the place to go, If you don't, it will be the biggest mistake of your life! Give them a try you won't be sorry!
Rich & Jackie
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
7/23/2018
Verified Customer
Easy peasy
I couldn't have had an easier experience buying a car from these guys. Every time I came into the office Rusty had my paperwork ready to go, and he was always friendly. No pushy sales tactics or too much information. I've had my car for a few weeks now and I love it! Thank you thank you!
Alyssa Guerin
Springfield, Massachusetts
7/3/2018
Verified Customer
AWESOME!
We purchased a Honda Pilot in May from Hampden Trading Company. It was a wonderful experience! Rusty-- and all the people we dealt with, were great- very prompt and went beyond what was required. I love these guys!
Mary Patryn
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
5/11/2018
Verified Customer
Your The Best RUSTY!!!
Rusty, I want to say "THANK YOU" for your assistance! I am greatly satisfied with the car that I purchased from Hamden Trading Company. Your GREAT customer service was highly appreciated.
Frances Negron
Springfield, Massachusetts
4/7/2018
Verified Customer
5 Star Experience!
Had a great experience here! Found everything I was looking for quickly and for a great price! Everyone was so helpful and made getting my car so easy! I've had it for a few months now and have had no problems whatsoever. Definitely would recommend!
Catherine McDonough
Springfield, Massachusetts
3/10/2018
Verified Customer
Very Happy
Very upfront on price and I will say their prices are fair. They stand behind fixing any issues you may have to the "T" I can attest to that. They are easy to deal with no pressure and everything went smooth. The car I got is great very happy I will be back there again and so will my family.
Lee
Stafford springs, Connecticut
3/1/2018
Verified Customer
Happy Customer
I recently bought a newer car. It had lots of things my old one didn't. As a senior citizen I went back to my salesman Rusty numerous times for assistance. He was always friendly and glad to help me. I'm glad Hampden Trading was referred to me. They have lots of vehicles. Check it out
joan sabadosa
monson, Massachusetts
2/24/2018
Verified Customer
Great Experience
We bought a car for my daughter to drive to college, Rusty was great and answered all of my questions. They addressed any issues I had on the test drive and even fixed something after I bought the car, no questions asked! We will definitely be back when it’s time for another car!
Rob P.
Bristol, Connecticut
1/28/2018
Verified Customer
Extremely happy with Hampden Trading Co and vehicle!
I purchased my daughters first car from Rusty at Hampden Trading Co, he was great to deal with. The car has been running perfect, no problems at all. They really go above and beyond to sell quality cars. I brought my mother in and she just purchased a car also! Great service great quality!!!
Candy
Wilbraham , Massachusetts
1/20/2018
Verified Customer
HTC is the real deal
Rusty at HTC helped us find an outstanding Subura Outback. It was quick and easy, and this gorgeous vehicle was a terrific value. HTC supplied everything we asked, right on time and as promised. I would highly recommend.
John Miller
Glastonbury , -- SELECT --
1/7/2018
Verified Customer
Great service, and easy to deal with
I just recently purchased a used Subaru Outback from Hampden Trading Company. The car, service and price were all great, and they were very easy to deal with. I would recommend them to others looking for a reasonably priced, used Subaru.
Paul Brewster
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
1/7/2018
Verified Customer
Complete service in purchase process
After my17 year olds first major accident, thankfully not hurt or his fault, we were dealing with insurance and car shopping right in the midst of the holidays. e were actually able to upgrade to a new, lower mileage car with only noted problem pain blemishes, otherwise a great car for a 17 year old who is now driving a newer car than me. And everything including registration and inspection were done for us. Thank You Rusty!
Brenda
Ware, Massachusetts
1/5/2018
Verified Customer
Wonderful Dealership
I purchased a used car from Hampden Trading a few months ago and had a great experience working with the dealership and with Rusty. He was very helpful and the prices and service was great! I have since driven my car from Massachusetts to Colorado and have had no troubles, I love my car!
Katie Tyler
Hadley, Massachusetts
12/20/2017
Verified Customer
HELPFUL BUISNESS AND NICE PEOPLE
VERY HELPFUL AND PROFESSIONAL, PURCHASED A 2011 LEGACY AT A GOOD PRICE, CAR HAS SOME DAMAGE UNDERNEATH THAT I WASNT NOTIFIED ABOUT BUT HAPPY OTHERWISE.
DANNY ROY
OXFORD MA, Massachusetts
11/29/2017
Verified Customer
Great Experience
Buying our daughter her first car was a great experience. No one to hassle you, honest and pleasant people all around. I will be back to buy our next car from them!!!
Nicole
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
11/23/2017
Verified Customer
Thank you Rusty!
I had been looking for a used Subaru Outback. Hamden Trading Co had one on their lot. Rusty Hughes was professional, courteous, and not your typical "pushy" salesman. I would recommend HTC for all of your used car needs. Signed, One Happy Customer
Linda K.
somers, Connecticut
11/12/2017
Verified Customer
Fabulous Customer Service and easy purchase experience
Out of State family recently arranged for purchase of vehicle based on online descriptions and pics. Customer service by Dave and Rusty was genuine and superb! Vehicle was just as described and even better in person. Pricing was very attractive compared to other personal experiences. Their customer service was great. Would recommend Hampden Trading Co to others. So great to shop local family-owned business.
Perez Family
South Hadley, Massachusetts
10/15/2017
Verified Customer
quick and easy
review image
The entire process was extremely quick, went in on Thursday for a test-drive and put down the deposit on the car and was able to drive it home the next Wednesday.Car was in excellent condition and they took care of the infamous head-gasket issue at no extra cost. Very happy and love my new car.
Anthony D Gagnon
Palmer, Massachusetts
10/7/2015
Verified Customer
Very happy with my vehicle purchase!
I had an easy, no hassle experience buying a car. Great price and payments right where I needed them to be. Very friendly and helpful staff as well. I highly recommend!
Mike Robertson

Write a review
*Required

Rating *:
Roll over the stars, then click to rate
Name to show on review*:
City:
State:
Enter or edit a review title*
Review / Comments*
CAPTCHA
Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code