Dealership Header

Customer Reviews

Overall Rating 5 / 5
10/29/2018
Verified Customer
Easy, very straightforward
I had been looking for quite awhile and getting discouraged. I saw a car offered at Hampden Tradiing and stopped by. Met Rusty who was very helpful, no pressure at all! He was very pleasant to my 93 year old mother as well. The car I called on was in their shop as they were checking it out as they had just gotten it. Rusty said he would call when it was ready. He called the next day and said it didn't check out too much wrong with it and they were not comfortable selling it. Told of a Subaru Outback they had and we went down and drove it. It fit our needs/budget he took it to our garage to have it checked out by them prior to taking a cent from us. A few minor issues that were normal for the mileage on the car, they fixed them all! Also did all paperwork, Registry, insurance, plates I just picked it up and drove it home! Highly recommend you include them in your search for a vehicle, in fact tell them what you want, they will look. Our cousin showed up to visit with a great Subaru Forester that he had just bought from them, also through Rusty. Thrilled with it! Go see Rusty!
Evelyn Mullin
Springfield, Massachusetts
9/30/2018
Verified Customer
Great Dealership!
They were very honest and helpful from the get go. Appreciated that they didn't hover while I browsed but were there when I needed anything. Continued to help after we left the shop. Would definitely recommend!
Lexie Vatousiou
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
9/18/2018
Verified Customer
Great Dealership!
If you need a good used car this is the place to go, the people are excellent to deal with and the service is great! Thanks Hampden Trading Company for a great experience.
Rich & Jackie
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
9/14/2018
Verified Customer
Hmm
We purchased our 2005 Subaru Forester XS LL Bean edition from Hampden Trading Company in June 2018. It was $7000 after tax and had 87,700 miles. So far, we love the car as a whole. It's in great shape for being 13 years old, it drives well and our purchase- despite being out of state -was relatively seamless. We had a miscommunication about being able to take the car that day and had to make two two-hour trips but it was overall worth it. Rusty was very prompt with sending over the title paperwork via Fedex and we were able to get the car in a good amount of time. That being said, when we purchased the car, we were told there was extensive work done on it (replacing gaskets, etc.) that supposedly was worth $800. When we test drove the car, the AC didn't work and so they were able to fix it before we picked it up which was much appreciated. For a month or so, we drove the car and it was fine. One day, we started hearing a whistling noise. We brought it to our mechanics and were told that the muffler piece broke and needed to be replaced (which is a common Subaru issue because it's ceramic). Roads in upstate New York are horrible and so the car has been bouncing around a lot. While the car was up they noticed the oil pan was leaking and the alternator would eventually need to be replaced. We did all of the work (except for replacing the oil pan) since we got it at a good price and spent $600, bringing the total we spent on the car to around $7600 which is not too bad for such a great car. This month (September 2018), I had a punctured tire so when I brought the car in to get my tires fixed, the mechanic looked it over once again. This time, he informed me that now my struts were leaking and that because it has a special auto-leveling suspension, I would need special dealer parts to replace them. He informed me that this would unfortunately cost about $1000 to repair, bringing the total spent on the car to around $8600. He informed me that if I wanted to keep the car for the long term, he would recommend that I repair the struts for longevity. I have grown to love this car and so I'd like to keep it for as long as possible. That being said, is $8600 for a 2005 Subaru Forester XS LL Bean Edition (with now 90,700 miles) is a little expensive. KBB says the value of it from a dealer would be around $6000. After all of this, I would say that we had a good experience buying from Hampden, but I wish they could've warned us if they knew all of these things would need to repaired. If their mechanic did such "extensive" work on it, he surely would have noticed that the AC didn't work in the middle of summer and that the oil pan had significant wear on it and that the alternator was starting to go. We've spent $1600 over 3 months. Hampden has a good selection and are helpful sales people but at the end of the day, it was our choice to buy a used car.
K Schell
Kingston, New York
9/9/2018
Verified Customer
Best Place to Buy a Used Car!
This was the most pleasant dealership that I have ever been too, The service is top of the line,and Rusty is the nicest sale person I ever met. If you want a good used car this is the place to go, If you don't, it will be the biggest mistake of your life! Give them a try you won't be sorry!
Rich & Jackie
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
7/23/2018
Verified Customer
Easy peasy
I couldn't have had an easier experience buying a car from these guys. Every time I came into the office Rusty had my paperwork ready to go, and he was always friendly. No pushy sales tactics or too much information. I've had my car for a few weeks now and I love it! Thank you thank you!
Alyssa Guerin
Springfield, Massachusetts
7/3/2018
Verified Customer
AWESOME!
We purchased a Honda Pilot in May from Hampden Trading Company. It was a wonderful experience! Rusty-- and all the people we dealt with, were great- very prompt and went beyond what was required. I love these guys!
Mary Patryn
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
5/11/2018
Verified Customer
Your The Best RUSTY!!!
Rusty, I want to say "THANK YOU" for your assistance! I am greatly satisfied with the car that I purchased from Hamden Trading Company. Your GREAT customer service was highly appreciated.
Frances Negron
Springfield, Massachusetts
4/7/2018
Verified Customer
5 Star Experience!
Had a great experience here! Found everything I was looking for quickly and for a great price! Everyone was so helpful and made getting my car so easy! I've had it for a few months now and have had no problems whatsoever. Definitely would recommend!
Catherine McDonough
Springfield, Massachusetts
3/10/2018
Verified Customer
Very Happy
Very upfront on price and I will say their prices are fair. They stand behind fixing any issues you may have to the "T" I can attest to that. They are easy to deal with no pressure and everything went smooth. The car I got is great very happy I will be back there again and so will my family.
Lee
Stafford springs, Connecticut
3/1/2018
Verified Customer
Happy Customer
I recently bought a newer car. It had lots of things my old one didn't. As a senior citizen I went back to my salesman Rusty numerous times for assistance. He was always friendly and glad to help me. I'm glad Hampden Trading was referred to me. They have lots of vehicles. Check it out
joan sabadosa
monson, Massachusetts
2/24/2018
Verified Customer
Great Experience
We bought a car for my daughter to drive to college, Rusty was great and answered all of my questions. They addressed any issues I had on the test drive and even fixed something after I bought the car, no questions asked! We will definitely be back when it’s time for another car!
Rob P.
Bristol, Connecticut
1/28/2018
Verified Customer
Extremely happy with Hampden Trading Co and vehicle!
I purchased my daughters first car from Rusty at Hampden Trading Co, he was great to deal with. The car has been running perfect, no problems at all. They really go above and beyond to sell quality cars. I brought my mother in and she just purchased a car also! Great service great quality!!!
Candy
Wilbraham , Massachusetts
1/20/2018
Verified Customer
HTC is the real deal
Rusty at HTC helped us find an outstanding Subura Outback. It was quick and easy, and this gorgeous vehicle was a terrific value. HTC supplied everything we asked, right on time and as promised. I would highly recommend.
John Miller
Glastonbury , -- SELECT --
1/7/2018
Verified Customer
Great service, and easy to deal with
I just recently purchased a used Subaru Outback from Hampden Trading Company. The car, service and price were all great, and they were very easy to deal with. I would recommend them to others looking for a reasonably priced, used Subaru.
Paul Brewster
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
1/7/2018
Verified Customer
Complete service in purchase process
After my17 year olds first major accident, thankfully not hurt or his fault, we were dealing with insurance and car shopping right in the midst of the holidays. e were actually able to upgrade to a new, lower mileage car with only noted problem pain blemishes, otherwise a great car for a 17 year old who is now driving a newer car than me. And everything including registration and inspection were done for us. Thank You Rusty!
Brenda
Ware, Massachusetts
1/5/2018
Verified Customer
Wonderful Dealership
I purchased a used car from Hampden Trading a few months ago and had a great experience working with the dealership and with Rusty. He was very helpful and the prices and service was great! I have since driven my car from Massachusetts to Colorado and have had no troubles, I love my car!
Katie Tyler
Hadley, Massachusetts
12/20/2017
Verified Customer
HELPFUL BUISNESS AND NICE PEOPLE
VERY HELPFUL AND PROFESSIONAL, PURCHASED A 2011 LEGACY AT A GOOD PRICE, CAR HAS SOME DAMAGE UNDERNEATH THAT I WASNT NOTIFIED ABOUT BUT HAPPY OTHERWISE.
DANNY ROY
OXFORD MA, Massachusetts
11/29/2017
Verified Customer
Great Experience
Buying our daughter her first car was a great experience. No one to hassle you, honest and pleasant people all around. I will be back to buy our next car from them!!!
Nicole
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
11/23/2017
Verified Customer
Thank you Rusty!
I had been looking for a used Subaru Outback. Hamden Trading Co had one on their lot. Rusty Hughes was professional, courteous, and not your typical "pushy" salesman. I would recommend HTC for all of your used car needs. Signed, One Happy Customer
Linda K.
somers, Connecticut
11/12/2017
Verified Customer
Fabulous Customer Service and easy purchase experience
Out of State family recently arranged for purchase of vehicle based on online descriptions and pics. Customer service by Dave and Rusty was genuine and superb! Vehicle was just as described and even better in person. Pricing was very attractive compared to other personal experiences. Their customer service was great. Would recommend Hampden Trading Co to others. So great to shop local family-owned business.
Perez Family
South Hadley, Massachusetts
10/15/2017
Verified Customer
quick and easy
review image
The entire process was extremely quick, went in on Thursday for a test-drive and put down the deposit on the car and was able to drive it home the next Wednesday.Car was in excellent condition and they took care of the infamous head-gasket issue at no extra cost. Very happy and love my new car.
Anthony D Gagnon
Palmer, Massachusetts
10/7/2015
Verified Customer
Very happy with my vehicle purchase!
I had an easy, no hassle experience buying a car. Great price and payments right where I needed them to be. Very friendly and helpful staff as well. I highly recommend!
Mike Robertson

Write a review
*Required

Rating *:
Roll over the stars, then click to rate
Name to show on review*:
City:
State:
Enter or edit a review title*
Review / Comments*
CAPTCHA
Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code